May 12, 2017 | News Story

Metro New York Labor Communications Council Honors Communicators at 42nd Annual Convention and Awards

oday, the Metro New York Labor Communications Council held its 42nd Annual Convention and Awards.  The Convention included a panel entitled "Workers in the Trump Era: Women’s Voices in the Resistance," which included journalists Miriam Frank, Sarah Jaffe, Premilla Nadasen, Jane Latour, and Ginger Adams Otis.

This year the "Communicator of the Year" award went to Democracy Now's! Amy Goodman. The Mary Heaton Vorse Award, named for the famed labor journalist and activist, went to DC 37 AFSCME's Greg Hires for his piece entitled "Homeless."  This year, the contest also included an award for journalism students. Leslie Duncan Fottrell and Andrew Watson were awarded the Matt Doherty and Gwen Wells Award for their video entitled "Fight for $15 - Cheryl, North Country."   General Excellence Awards, which go to unions for their newspapers and newsletters, went to AFM Local 802's Allegro, and 1199SEIU's Our Life & Times.